AFLW Academy expands in second year

In only its second year, the AFLW Academy has expanded from 33 players to 44 after the success of the the program in 2017.

The increase also comes in order to accommodate the expanding teams, Geelong and North Melbourne, as 16 Victorians in the Academy will be eligible to be drafted in next year’s draft, in comparison to the six eligible Victorians in this year’s program.

2017 AFLW Draft first selection Isabel Huntington and NSW top prospect Alyce Parker were involved in the 2017 AFLW Academy. Image: Australian Sports Commission

Overseen by AFL Women’s female talent operations manager Aasta O’Connor and mentors Renee Forth and Ahmed Saad, the 12-month program will see 44 talented players from across the country take part in high-performance training and personal development camps setting them up to be drafted into the national competition.

Inaugural AFLW Best and Fairest and Adelaide Crow, Erin Phillips will be the Academy’s high-performance coach.

11 footballers from the first program, which replicates the boy’s academy, were drafted to AFLW clubs, including Darcy Guttridge, Monique Conti, Tayla McAuliffe, Daria Bannister and Haneen Zreika.

As per last year, the program is split into two levels, with 15 16-year-old Level One footballers and 29 17-year-old Level Two footballers.

Those at Level Two will be eligible for the the 2018 draft.

17 players who were involved in the inaugural academy will return this year.

The first camp will take place in Darwin in December at the Michael Long Learning and Leadership Centre.

Level Two Squad
McKenzie Dowrick (Coastal Titans, WA)
Sabreena Duffy (Peel Thunderbirds, WA)
Courtney Hodder (Peel Thunderbirds, WA)
Chloe Haines (Burnie, TAS)
Libby Haines (Burnie, TAS)
Tori Groves-Little (Beenleigh, QLD)
Lauren Bella (Bakers Creek Tigers, QLD)
Tahlia Hickie (Coorparoo, QLD)
Nikki Gore (Christies Beach, SA)
Danielle Ponter (St Mary’s, NT)
Janet Baird (Palmerston, NT)
Alyce Parker (Thurgoona, NSW/ACT)
Jordyn Jolliffe (Woorinen, NSW/ACT)
Jordyn Allen (Dandenong Stingrays, VIC C)
Georgia Clarke (GWV Rebels, VIC C)
Courtney Jones (Dandenong Stingrays,VIC C)
Brooke Struylaart (Dandenong Stingrays, VIC C)
Tyla Hanks (Gippsland Power, VIC C)
Denby Taylor (Geelong Falcons, VIC C)
Olivia Purcell (Geelong Falcons, VIC C)
Nina Morrison (Geelong Falcons, VIC C)
Sophie Van De Huevel (GWV Rebels, VIC C)
Eliza Shannon (Geelong Falcons, VIC C)
Rene Caris (GWV Rebels, VIC C)
Becky Webster (Murray Bushrangers, VIC C)
Madison Prespakis (Calder Cannons, VIC M)
Emerson Woods (Eastern Ranges, VIC M)
Georgia McPherson (Eastern Ranges, VIC M)
Molly Warburton (Calder Cannons, VIC M)

Level One Squad
Rosie Deegan (South Fremantle, WA)
Mikayla Bowan (Swan Districts, WA)
Tarni White (Coorparoo, QLD)
Kitara Farrar (South Cairns Cutters, QLD)
Lily Postleth, WAite (Moreton Bay Lions, QLD)
Dee Heslop (Southport, QLD)
Belle Dawes (Moreton Bay Lions, QLD)
Jamie Tabb (West Adelaide, SA)
Maggie Gorham (Belconnen Magpies, NSW/ACT)
Isabella Grant (Western Jets, VIC M)
Georgia Patrikios (Calder Cannons, VIC M)
Lucy McEvoy (Geelong Falcons, VIC C)
Millie Brown (Murray Bushrangers, VIC C)
Laura McClelland (Eastern Ranges, VIC M)
Gabrielle Newton (Northern Knights, VIC M)

Are you a fan of Girls Play Footy?

Girls Play Footy is an independent media outlet operated by volunteers. If you’d like to help us cover the costs of doing what we do, we hope you’ll consider supporting us on Patreon! Becoming a GPF patron gives you access to additional content and some great rewards.

To pledge to support Girls Play Footy on Patreon, follow this link!