2018 AFLW fixture released

Carlton and Collingwood will again open the season at Ikon Park when the AFLW returns on Friday, February 2.

The two teams drew a crowd of 25,000 and thousands more were turned away at the gate when a lockout was enforced during the second quarter.

Collingwood’s Sarah D’Arcy collides with Carlton’s Shae Audley. Image: Michael Willson/AFL Media

A further 896,000 fans tuned into the game at home on national TV to watch Darcy Vescio kick four goals and Brianna Davey rack up 26 disposals as Carlton ran away with the game 7.4 (46) to 1.5 (11).

Both sides feature highlight additions for the second meeting, with 2016 Western Bulldogs best and fairest Jaimee Lambert and number two pick in the AFLW Draft Chloe Molloy coming into the fold for Collingwood, while former Lion Tayla Harris and the Magpies’ 2017 best and fairest winner Nicola Stevens have switched over to Carlton.

Round one will also feature the Grand Final rematch between the premiership-winning Adelaide Crows and the Brisbane Lions.

The Lions will be looking for some retribution after losing the inaugural Grand Final by just six points, while Adelaide will aim to prove that it is still a powerhouse in the AFLW.

Though it is yet to be confirmed, it is expected that all Friday and Saturday night games will be televised on the Seven Network, with all other matches to be aired on Fox Footy.

 

2018 AFLW fixture

Round 1
Friday, February 2 (7.40pm EDT): Carlton vs Collingwood @ Ikon Park
Saturday, February 3 (5.05pm EDT): Melbourne vs GWS @ Casey Fields
Saturday, February 3 (6.45pm CDT): Adelaide vs Brisbane @ Norwood Oval
Sunday, February 4 (4.35pm EDT): Western Bulldogs vs Fremantle @ VU Whitten Oval

Round 2
Friday, February 9 (7.05pm EDT): GWS vs Carlton @ Drummoyne Oval
Saturday, February 10 (5.05pm EDT): Melbourne vs Adelaide @ Casey Fields
Saturday, February 10 (4.10pm WST): Fremantle vs Collingwood @ Perth Stadium
Sunday, February 11 (3.35pm EDT): Brisbane vs Western Bulldogs @ South Pine Sports Complex

Round 3
Saturday, February 17 (1.35pm CDT): Adelaide vs Western Bulldogs @ Norwood Oval
Saturday, February 17 (7.40pm EDT): Carlton vs Brisbane @ Ikon Park
Sunday, February 18 (4.35pm EDT): Collingwood vs GWS @ Olympic Park Oval
Sunday, February 18 (3.35pm WST): Fremantle vs Melbourne @ Fremantle Oval

Round 4
Friday, February 23 (7.05pm EDT): Western Bulldogs vs Carlton @ VU Whitten Oval
Saturday, February 24 (3.35pm EST): Brisbane vs Fremantle @ South Pine Sports Complex
Saturday, February 24 (5.40m CST): Melbourne vs Collingwood @ TIO Trager Park
Sunday, February 25 (4.35pm EDT): GWS vs Adelaide @ Blacktouwn Int Sportspark

Round 5
Friday, March 2 (7.05pm EDT): Melbourne vs Brisbane @ Casey Fields
Saturday, March 3 (2.05pm WST): Fremantle vs GWS @ Fremantle Oval
Saturday, March 3 (6.40pm CDT): Adelaide vs Carlton @ Norwood Oval
Sunday, March 4 (2.35pm EDT): Collingwood vs Western Bulldogs

Round 6
Friday, March 9 (5.35pm CST): Adelaide vs Fremantle @ TIO Stadium
Saturday, March 10 (3.35pm EST): Brisbane vs Collingwood @ Moreton Bay Central Sports Complex
Saturday, March 10 (7.10pm EDT): GWS vs Western Bulldogs @ UNSW Canberra Oval
Sunday, March 11 (4.35pm EDT): Carlton vs Melbourne @ Ikon Park

Round 7
Friday, March 16 (7.05pm EDT): GWS vs Brisbane @ Blacktown Int Sportspark
Saturday, March 17 (2.05pm WST): Fremantle vs Carlton @ Fremantle Oval
Saturday, March 17 (7.10pm EDT): Western Bulldogs vs Melbourne @ VU Whitten Oval
Sunday, March 18 (2.35pm EDT): Collingwood vs Adelaide @ Olympic Park Oval

Grand Final
Saturday, March 24: Venue and time TBA

SHARE