Erin Phillips wins B&F, W Awards winners and All-Australians announced

Erin Phillips has capped off her incredible individual season by winning the 2017 AFLW Best and Fairest award, further cementing her position as the competition’s best player.

The premiership-winning co-captain of the Adelaide Crows had already been awarded with a Grand Final medal and BOG, and the AFLPA MVP award.

Phillips was also the winner of the inaugural Leesa Catto Media MVP, our AFLW player of the season award.

She averaged 20 disposals and kicked 10 goals in 2017, including two in the Grand Final that helped tip the ledger in her side’s favour.

The award was won after six rounds when Phillips pulled ahead by three votes, finishing with 14, ahead of Karen Paxman (Melbourne) and Ellie Blackburn (Western Bulldogs) in second, both on 10 votes.

Phillips was also presented with the Goal of the Year earlier in the night for her long-range goal that grabbed the points against Carlton, as a number of awards were handed out for the efforts of individuals in the 2017 season.

Crows teammate Ebony Marinoff was awarded with the Rising Star award for her incredible breakout season on the national platform.

Along with averaging 16 disposals, Marinoff averaged an incredible 10 tackles per game in the home and away season, winning the award ahead of Brisbane’s Sabrina Frederick-Traub in second.

Marinoff was nominated in the first round of the season and was a consistent performer in the Crows’ premiership campaign.

The Leading Goal Kicker award was presented to Darcy Vescio for her 14 goals, including four in the first ever AFLW match in front of 25,000 fans against Collingwood.

Vescio returned to the stage to claim the Mark of the Year for her big pack grab against the Western Bulldogs.

The All-Australian team was also announced, with the Grand Finalists Adelaide and Brisbane topping the teams for representatives with five each, ahead of Melbourne with four.

The team was selected as five defenders, six midfielders, five forwards and six interchange players.

2017 AFLW All-Australian team
B: Nicola Stevens (Coll) – Courtney Cramey (Ade)
HB: Chelsea Randall (Ade) – Brianna Davey (Carl) – Karen Paxman (Melb)
C: Elise O’Dea (Melb) – Daisy Pearce (c) (Melb) – Emma Kearney (WB)
HF: Erin Phillips (vc) (Ade) – Sabrina Frederick-Traub (Bris) – Ellie Blackburn (WB)
F: Darcy Vescio (Carl) – Sarah Perkins (Ade)
R: Emma King (Coll) – Kara Donnellan (Fre) – Emily Bates (Bris)
Int: Jess Dal Pos (GWS) – Kate McCarthy (Bris) – Ebony Marinoff (Ade) – Tayla Harris (Bris) – Melissa Hickey (Melb) – Sam Virgo (Bris)

Are you a fan of Girls Play Footy?

Girls Play Footy is an independent media outlet operated by volunteers. If you’d like to help us cover the costs of doing what we do, we hope you’ll consider supporting us on Patreon! Becoming a GPF patron gives you access to additional content and some great rewards.

To pledge to support Girls Play Footy on Patreon, follow this link!